Bowie (n.): or “Why I Have Accepted the Macquarie as My Day-to-Day Dictionary”

bowiemug1

“Bowie: David (David Robert Jones), born 1947, British pop singer and composer, an important influence in experimental rock music.”

 

I’m a tiny bit of an Oxford English Dictionary snob. If I had unlimited access to it (my university student online subscription only has the tiniest whisper of life in it) I would refer to nothing else. I love it so much I have read multiple books ABOUT the OED [The Meaning of Everything, The Surgeon of Crowthorne, Reading the OED…] and have a whole lot of blogging love for the OED Word of the Day email.

Failing that, I defer to (gasp) Wiktionary, as even the most cursory glance through Proof (v.) will reveal.

But I have suddenly find myself consulting an actual tome-of-a-dictionary several times a day, and the one that happens to be close at hand is the Macquarie. I was reticent to accept its authority (we Australians are best known for butchering the English language, not documenting it)… until today, when I stumbled upon the aforeblogged entry:


“Bowie: David (David Robert Jones), born 1947, British pop singer and composer, an important influence in experimental rock music.”


Macquarie Dictionary, if you are going to have an entry on David Bowie, I defer to your most tasteful authority.


[The awesome photo wasn’t in the dictionary. It’s from Hi-ReS! feed. Read the (quite unsurprising) story of Bowie’s mugshot at The Smoking Gun.]

Leave a Reply

