Colour me Crayola (or Derwent)

It’s a generally accepted fact that I am, generally speaking, a tiny bit of a nerd. I like the Pantone scale, chromatic coordination, and whimsical nomenclature.

So it’s no surprise that when I plugged myself into the intermesh this morning, I was tickled pink* to find 120 Crayon Names, Colour Codes and Fun Facts:

Click the pretty picture to see the whole blog posting on COLOURlovers.

But as much as I love looking at the pretty chromatic arrangement (and I do) I love the names even more.

Some read like the Ben & Jerry’s flavour list: Macaroni and Cheese. Neon Carrot.Wild Watermelon. Jazzberry Jam.

Others make me think of a ModCloth catalogue: Unmellow Yellow. Mango Tango. Mauvelous. Wild Blue Yonder. Purple Heart.

Some are eloquently evocative (and evocatively eloquent): Wisteria. Asparagus. Shamrock. Robin Egg Blue.

And others still are so very, very Derwentine: Aquamarine. Cerulean. Pine Green. Raw Sienna. Magenta.

Speaking of which, I was much more a Derwent fan when I was growing up. Oh how we young girls coveted the timber double-tray box of 120.

Oh yeah. That’s the stuff.

It was the ultimate sign of prestige: all the cool kids had a set. We hoarded them greedily in Year 4, waiting desperately until art class when we would put one tray on the desk, one in the under-desk cubby, and one on our laps. It was an unspoken pact among friends that one could borrow no more than 3 colours at a time. “Pressing hard” was forbidden, for fear of snapping the lead (but it was perfectly okay to colour over several times in order to achieve the same opaque effect). And under NO circumstances was anyone other than the owner ever allowed to sharpen the pencil, EVER.

Ah, the social mores of a nascent stationery fiend.


* That’s hex code FC89AC, by the way.

PS. This morning the internet (clearly on a roll with the technicolour awesomeness) also introduced me to this crazy Ray-Ban-fan chameleon:


Chameleons are pretty incredible anyway, but this is one wild child colour junkie.

Leave a Reply

