A Kindleworm by any other name (and exciting news for OED lovers)

[EDIT: Sadly, http://www.oed.com no longer works, and even the link to it from Oxford Dictionaries Online is broken. Sincerest apologies on my behalf for getting us all excited, and for not realising sooner.]

The straw that finally broke my anti-Kindle camel’s back was the fact that Kindle comes loaded with the full Oxford English Dictionary [ALSO EDIT: I meant (and still mean) the Oxford Dictionary OF English. I unforgivably use OED as a generic term, though I know there are some who would drop a thesaurus on my head for such an offence.], thus overcoming the two main obstacles previously prohibiting my access to said lexicographical bible: price, and bulk. (My only other accessway was online, through the student login left over from my university days. Not coincidentally, that student login is my favourite souvenir as an alumnus).

Anyway, I bought a Kindle as soon as I realised this (while playing Scrabble in a Kindle-owning friend’s dictionary-less house). And thereafter, when asked whether Kindle “is good?”, my most likely answer has been “IT HAS THE *WHOLE* OXFORD ENGLISH DICTIONARY *IN* IT. YES is good.”

Now this doesn’t mean I no longer love “real” books. I do. Very much.

I have an inconveniently large number of books in my new home. (At least, relocating them from my old home – and chromatically arranging them again – was inconvenient.)

I also have one of these…

…on my desk at work.

Yes, it’s a giant fuzzy bookworm, otherwise known as helluo librorum.

WAIT A MINUTE.

Helluo librorum.

The OED is online!

Free!

Searchable!

No subscription (or university alumnus login) required!


And @OxfordWords tweets the Word Of The Day!

Now this doesn’t mean I no longer love Kindle…

.

4 thoughts on “A Kindleworm by any other name (and exciting news for OED lovers)

  1. Can you offer a link to the inclusion of the full OED on new Kindles? Amazon’s website refers only to the New Oxford American Dictionary. This is much less interesting for those of us with two degrees in Classical Languages and Literature and living outside the USA

    • Please see my second edit above, and accept my profound apologies for the confusion. Either way, the Kindle (at least Kindle 3G — I’m not au fait with Kindle Fire and Touch) comes with the Oxford Dictionary of English (which I know is different from the OED, but is definitely British English) as well as the New Oxford American Dictionary — you can choose which to set as the default dictionary.

  2. I was very excited at the prospect of accessing an updated OED for free. I clicked your link and was baffled. Was it temporary? Am I too late? Do I need a membership to a library in the UK (I live in the US)?

Leave a Reply

